• A new rule, dubbed the Durnan Rule, prohibited goalies from serving as team captains. The rule was put in place as Montreal Canadiens goalie Bill Durnan would frequently leave his crease to dispute calls, effectively giving his team unscheduled timeouts at critical moments of games. The rule was eventually relaxed, and it wasn't until 2008 that a goalie (Roberto Luongo of the Vancouver Canucks) would be named team captain.

• Durnan would make history, recording four consecutive shutouts -- going a total of 309:21 without giving up a goal. That record would stand 55 years before Brian Boucher of the Phoenix Coyotes registered six consecutive shutouts and a scoreless streak of 332:01.

• The Toronto Maple Leafs won the Stanley Cup, sweeping the Detroit Red Wings in the Final for the second year in a row.

Boston Bruins

Chicago Black Hawks

Detroit Red Wings

Montreal Canadiens

New York Rangers

Toronto Maple Leafs

NHL All-Stars