• Following an eventful off-season filled with bickering and legal action, the NHL begins play with three teams.

• The season ends early when the Toronto Arenas suspend operations, leaving the Montreal Canadiens and the Ottawa Senators to play for the NHL title. Montreal defeated Ottawa, four games to one, to win the O'Brien Cup.

• The Canadiens advanced to play the PCHA champion Seattle Metropolitans for the Stanley Cup. After five games, the two teams were tied with two wins apiece (one game ended in a tie). The series ended with the Spanish influenza infecting the entire Montreal team, and the Stanley Cup was not awarded.

Montreal Canadiens

Ottawa Senators

Toronto Arenas